# MINUTES OF THE ALTERNATIVE WASTE DISPOSAL RFP REVIEW/SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING

## June 03, 2024

The Committee meeting was scheduled for 12:00PM in SPSA's second floor conference room at the Regional Building, 723 Woodlake Drive, Chesapeake, VA, 23320.

## In Attendance:

Tom Leahy, Committee Chairman

Brett Spain, Counsel

Michael Etheridge, Committee Member

Kevin Cosgrove, Counsel

Dennis Bagley, Committee Member

Brad Nowak, Counsel

Henry Strickland, Committee Member

Bob Gardner, Consultant

Deborah White, Committee Secretary

Angie Hutchins, Advisory Support

#### Absent:

Richard Broad, Committee Member

# 1. Call Meeting to Order

Tom Leahy, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 12:11PM.

## 2. Review and Approve Minutes from April 29, 2024 Committee Meeting

The Chairman asked for a motion to approve the minutes; Dennis Bagley moved, seconded by Henry Strickland. Prior to a vote, Mr. Strickland abstained because he had not attended the April 29<sup>th</sup> Committee Meeting. Michael Etheridge also abstained due to being appointed to the Committee by the Board of Directors at their May 22, 2024 meeting. The Chairman suggested to table the motion.

### 3. Written Electronic Attendance Policy

The Chairman reviewed the Committee's prior discussion at the April 29, 2024 meeting about not allowing Committee Members to participate electronically in meetings for convenience and evaluating on a case-by-case basis if electronic participation was needed due to a medical issue. After discussing with counsel the need for a formal policy and giving further consideration to work schedules of Members working for SPSA's localities, the Chairman recommended adopting a written electronic attendance policy which would mirror the policy used by SPSA Executive Committee. A copy of the policy was handed out to be reviewed. The Chairman asked for a motion to approve the Policy on Individual Participation in SPSA Alternative Waste Disposal RFP Review/Selection Committee Meetings by Electronic Means; Dennis Bagley moved, seconded by Henry Strickland. The

motion passed by unanimous vote of Committee Members (4-0). At 12:18PM, Richard Broad was called to participate electronically in the meeting, but he did not answer. Because only two Members of the Committee who attended the previous meeting were present and voting, the approval of the April 29, 2024 meeting minutes will be held until the next meeting on June 10, 2024.

#### 4. Closed Session

The Chairman read a proposed motion to approve request for closed session:

I move that a closed session be held for discussions regarding proposals received in response to the RFP issued by SPSA for Solid Waste Disposal Services, in accordance with Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711(A)(29) for the purpose of considering the negotiation and award of a public contract involving the expenditure of public funds where discussion in an open session would adversely affect the bargaining position or negotiating strategy of the public body.

Dennis Bagley moved, seconded by Michael Etheridge, to approve the closed session motion as presented.

#### Roll Call:

Tom Leahy – YES
Michael Etheridge – YES
Dennis Bagley – YES
Henry Strickland – YES

The motion passed by unanimous roll call vote of Committee Members (4-0). The Committee went into closed session at 12:20PM.

The Committee returned to open session at 3:43PM, at which time the Chairman read a proposed motion to approve certification after closed session:

The Alternative Waste Disposal RFP Review Committee hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge: (a) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and (b) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered in the closed meeting just concluded.

Dennis Bagley moved, seconded by Michael Etheridge, to approve certification after closed session as presented.

#### Roll Call:

Tom Leahy – YES
Michael Etheridge – YES
Dennis Bagley – YES
Henry Strickland – YES

The motion passed by unanimous roll call vote of Committee Members (4-0).

## 5. Additional Business

Michael Etheridge reminded the Committee that he would not be attending the next meeting on June 10, 2024. He will notify Deborah White before the meeting starts if he is able to participate electronically.

# 6. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 3:46PM.

Minutes Approved As Presented.

Thomas Leahy, Chairman

Date

6-10-2024